thread

PacMan noob :? .... fast play or slow ?

User Tag List

Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 1 2 3
Results 21 to 28 of 28
  1. Credibility: 1,000
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Lansing, MI
    Posts
    355
    Thanks (Received)
    0
    Likes (Received)
    0
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Follows
    1
    Following
    3

    Re: PacMan noob :? .... fast play or slow ?

    Quote Originally Posted by dave88
    Quote Originally Posted by PhilliyBlunt813
    when I get to the 9th key I cant use the 9th key pattern that is used for a typical "normal" or "turbo" game. Which I'm suppose to be using on the 4th key and on, it has never worked. Pinky is always there to kill me by the time i am coming up to eat the key.
    Which 9th key pattern are you trying to use?
    Give "Stacked" a try, it's easy to follow (this can be a problem with a lot of 9th key patterns imo, it's easy to space out for a sec and miss a turn), it's pretty fast. I also find it more entertaining than most.
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wzR9FgazHRQ
    Sometimes you can go around or through the monsters on just a regular board. Case in point...the following video where I go around 2 of them before eating the center prize:

    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=pyddcoW0CJc

    Quote Originally Posted by dave88
    Quote Originally Posted by PhilliyBlunt813
    Sorry for being such a noob dudes. But is attract mode not when Pacman is playing itself? Or what is the best way to do such.....again sorry for the noobness. My machine does not show screen of pacman playing itself
    Yes, attract mode. Just watch for where Pac-Man dies in the attract mode. If your machine does not display attract mode, it may be set for free play? If so, you should adjust the dip switches to "1 coin 1 credit" When in free play mode Pac-Man displays a static screen which can cause burn in if left on a lot. Plus it's cooler to have the demo anyway.
    Some poorly-made machines in the early 1980s may also have had this problem. I played one on Difficulty 2 in Detroit during 1981-83; during the demo where the monsters' names were listed, you could see where the borders were "burned-in" on the screen. It was also one of the loudest machines in the Stargate Arcade.



    "Here's my latest invention, the Pactrometer. Yeeoooooww!!"
    [Hoping the government does not force me to buy health insurance I don't need...I haven't done anything to send me to the doctor in some 5.5 years!]
    :roll:
  2. Senior Member Credibility: 1,000
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Posts
    1,332
    Thanks (Received)
    6
    Likes (Received)
    1
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Follows
    2
    Following
    3

    Re: PacMan noob :? .... fast play or slow ?

    Quote Originally Posted by vgmc7650
    Some poorly-made machines in the early 1980s may also have had this problem. I played one on Difficulty 2 in Detroit during 1981-83; during the demo where the monsters' names were listed, you could see where the borders were "burned-in" on the screen. It was also one of the loudest machines in the Stargate Arcade.
    It's not actually the quality of the machine, just how long it's left on. If it runs 24/7, the screen burn will show much quicker than if it's only on say 8 hours a day or less. Having it on free play will stop the maze and ghost names from burning in, but at the expense of having "Press 1 or 2 players to start" text burned in instead (and probably much quicker too, since the screen won't be changing at all unless someone is actually playing)
  3. Credibility: 1,000
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    WA
    Posts
    750
    Thanks (Received)
    0
    Likes (Received)
    0
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Follows
    1
    Following
    3

    Re: PacMan noob :? .... fast play or slow ?

    Quote Originally Posted by CrazyKongFan
    Having it on free play will stop the maze and ghost names from burning in, but at the expense of having "Press 1 or 2 players to start" text burned in instead (and probably much quicker too, since the screen won't be changing at all unless someone is actually playing)
    Much quicker.
  4. Credibility: 1,000
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    WA
    Posts
    750
    Thanks (Received)
    0
    Likes (Received)
    0
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Follows
    1
    Following
    3

    Re: PacMan noob :? .... fast play or slow ?

    Quote Originally Posted by PhilliyBlunt813
    Where you play Dave ?
    You should get on Lock. I do some stake horsing/ team play.
    I play live at various casinos and cardrooms here in WA. Too much shenanigans involved in online poker, both from the players and the sites themselves. It makes it almost a different game. If you are not running pokertracker type software with a HUD utilizing databases of millions of hands compiled by russian dataminers, playing on a team, or bumhunting heads up you are at a disadvantage. I would probably play some MTT's online once in a while. But the fact that our corrupt lawmakers in WA have made online poker a felony in our state (though no one has been prosecuted). Combined with the uncertain nature of funding (I lost funds in both the Netteller incident, and the more recent collapse of Full Tilt) prevent me from playing online. Much of my advantage comes from sizing people up getting a feel for where they're coming from. Online most of this is lost, replaced with stats, HUD's and multitabling setminers. It sucks the fun out of it for me. Sorry for the rant, I used to like online poker but it's changed a lot in the last ten years. I just enjoy live poker so much more.

    Good Luck with the Pac-Man :)
  5. Credibility: 1,000
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Posts
    7
    Thanks (Received)
    0
    Likes (Received)
    0
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Follows
    1
    Following
    3

    Re: PacMan noob :? .... fast play or slow ?

    I hear ya there dave... I used to run HUD but it crashed my ish.... so I stopped . The way I figure it there is so much dead money heads-up its otay. I just took a 4k tourney down at Lock. wasnt so bad.

    I posted a video on youtube of my machine on attract mode. It looks like the Manhattan one. ? So Im sure that sucks.. lol

    please let me know

    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=B2fb8qJC8KU

    thanks dudes
  6. Senior Member Credibility: 1,000
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Posts
    1,332
    Thanks (Received)
    6
    Likes (Received)
    1
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Follows
    2
    Following
    3

    Re: PacMan noob :? .... fast play or slow ?

    No, you have the right Pac-Man set, but you have the speed up chip (located at 6F) installed on the board.
  7. Credibility: 1,000
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    WA
    Posts
    750
    Thanks (Received)
    0
    Likes (Received)
    0
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Follows
    1
    Following
    3

    Re: PacMan noob :? .... fast play or slow ?

    You can get a regular speed 6F chip at mikesarcade
    http://www.mikesarcade.com/cgi-bin/store.pl?sku=PACSTD

    Or cheaper $10 shipped from hobbyroms.com
    http://www.hobbyroms.com/installeprom.html
    Just email him and ask for a regular speed Pac-Man 6F

    Congrats on the tournament
  8. VERIFIED Senior Member Credibility: 915
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    176
    Thanks (Received)
    11
    Likes (Received)
    30
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Follows
    19
    Following
    10
    I've never been a fan of any modified version of the original Pac Man.
    It's such an absolute classic that should never be touched. It's like modifying a classic car with big alloy wheels or spoilers. It just doesn't need or deserve it.
    Likes kernzyp liked this post
Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 1 2 3