thread

Donkey Kong 3: Which DIP switch setting for difficulty?

User Tag List

Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. VERIFIED Junior Member Credibility: 1,000
    Join Date
    Dec 2016
    Posts
    2
    Thanks (Received)
    0
    Likes (Received)
    0
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Follows
    1
    Following
    4

    Donkey Kong 3: Which DIP switch setting for difficulty?

    Hi all. I have searched and it looks like Twin Galaxies lists the proper DIP switch setting for DK3 to be "medium" but does not list which number is considered medium. From what I have seen, the instruction manual for DK3 does not list a "medium" but instead lists difficulty levels of 1, 2, 3, and 4. So, for Twin Galaxies settings, which setting is the proper one: 2 or 3? Thanks!
  2. VERIFIED Senior Member Credibility: 1,120
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Posts
    750
    Thanks (Received)
    19
    Likes (Received)
    109
    Blog Entries
    1
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)
    Follows
    22
    Following
    10
    Well depends on what you are doing? Are you playing on Arcade or are you playing on MAME. It's dip switch setting number 3 for Medium. MAME is on Medium settings, but strangely enough MAME medium settings are really dip switch number 2. So if it's Arcade like I think you are doing, than yeah number 3. So I take it you are looking to submit a score. What is your high score at the moment?
    Space Jockey (Atari 2600) 1,321,495 3rd highest score in the world.
  3. VERIFIED Junior Member Credibility: 1,000
    Join Date
    Dec 2016
    Posts
    2
    Thanks (Received)
    0
    Likes (Received)
    0
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Follows
    1
    Following
    4
    Hi Homer. Thanks for the reply. I clicked to subscribe to the thread so I am not sure why I did not receive email notification of your reply, so I apologize for my delay.

    I am playing on an actual physical DK3 arcade cabinet. I do not expect to be breaking any records! My top is like 225,000. I more so want to make sure I have the proper settings selected for "training" purposes.
  4. VERIFIED Senior Member Credibility: 2,903
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Antarctica
    Posts
    1,298
    Thanks (Received)
    367
    Likes (Received)
    1238
    Blog Entries
    98
    Mentioned
    15 Post(s)
    Tagged
    30 Thread(s)
    Follows
    51
    Following
    54
    Hey there OldSkoolFool, welcome to Twin Galaxies! I hope you can adjudicate a few scores and earn some points. Then you can submit your scores too. I would like to see you play DK3. It is a fun game, reminds me of Galaga.
    --My TG Blog--
    --Long live the neon glow--

    --Arcade Photographer of All Time--
  5. VERIFIED Senior Member Credibility: 1,120
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Posts
    750
    Thanks (Received)
    19
    Likes (Received)
    109
    Blog Entries
    1
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)
    Follows
    22
    Following
    10
    Quote Originally Posted by OldSkoolFool View Post
    Hi Homer. Thanks for the reply. I clicked to subscribe to the thread so I am not sure why I did not receive email notification of your reply, so I apologize for my delay.

    I am playing on an actual physical DK3 arcade cabinet. I do not expect to be breaking any records! My top is like 225,000. I more so want to make sure I have the proper settings selected for "training" purposes.
    That's a really decent score. Glad to see you train on my favorite game. :)
    Space Jockey (Atari 2600) 1,321,495 3rd highest score in the world.
    Thanks datagod thanked for this post
    Likes datagod liked this post
  6. VERIFIED Senior Member Credibility: 2,903
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Antarctica
    Posts
    1,298
    Thanks (Received)
    367
    Likes (Received)
    1238
    Blog Entries
    98
    Mentioned
    15 Post(s)
    Tagged
    30 Thread(s)
    Follows
    51
    Following
    54
    Quote Originally Posted by homerwannabee View Post
    That's a really decent score. Glad to see you train on my favorite game. :)
    Hey George, how long have you been playing that game? How long did it take you to get the world record?
    --My TG Blog--
    --Long live the neon glow--

    --Arcade Photographer of All Time--
  7. VERIFIED Senior Member Credibility: 1,120
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Posts
    750
    Thanks (Received)
    19
    Likes (Received)
    109
    Blog Entries
    1
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)
    Follows
    22
    Following
    10
    Quote Originally Posted by datagod View Post
    Hey George, how long have you been playing that game? How long did it take you to get the world record?
    I played this game at first I think when I was 10 years old. I had the high score at the South Pasadena boys club when I was 11 in 1986. Well I started playing DK3 again with Java in January of 2010. Sometime in May I realized that my score in Java was very close to the record, and I looked for an arcade machine to play it on. I found an Ultracade. After about a week I was getting around 3 million, and I thought getting the record would be a piece of cake if I found a machine. Little did I know I was playing on easy settings. I finally did find a machine, and within a few days of playing I broke the world record. First I broke the 5 man record, and a couple of days later it was Memorial day weekend, and AtariAge had this as part of their high score contest. As a joke someone said I should beat the record during the tournament, and I did just that, and became the world record holder. Then I went to Seattle, and broke my record in a live setting with a 3.5 million score. Than I went to Eric Tessler's house, and put up a 4.2 million score. Finally I went to Denver, and put up the score that you see today on the site. It's the one game I was naturally good at for whatever crazy reason.
    Space Jockey (Atari 2600) 1,321,495 3rd highest score in the world.
    Thanks datagod thanked for this post