Four NBA Franchises Joining NBA 2K League For Second Season

Ford James,

August 15, 2018 9:18 AM

Hawks, Nets, Lakers and Wolves are all joining to make the total number of teams 21 for the second season of the NBA 2K League.

Ahead of the second season of the NBA 2K League kicking off later this year, NBA has announced the addition of four franchises that are jumping into the fray. The Atlanta Hawks, Brooklyn Nets, Los Angeles Lakers and Minnesota Timberwolves will all be joining the league, taking the 17 team total up to 21.

The NBA 2K League arena in action during the first season. Image courtesy of The Esports Observer.

"Welcoming these four world-class organizations and their passionate fanbases to the NBA 2K League is an exciting moment not only for the league, but for the entire 2K community," NBA 2K League managing director Brendan Donohue said in a statement on Wednesday. "From their innovative spirit to their global reach, we know each of these teams will be a tremendous addition, and we are thrilled that this growth offers the opportunity for new players, coaches and support staff to join the league."

The first season concludes later this month on August 25 in New York after three months of play. This is just a couple of weeks before NBA 2K19 releases on September 11. Just two weeks later, the second season will get underway with an expansion draft on September 28.

In other NBA gaming news, Celtics player Gordon Hayward has claimed he’s the best Fortnite player in the league.

(Header image courtesy of SportingLife.)


You need to be logged in to post a comment.

Join us