Call of Duty League Explains How Tournament Fomat Will Operate

Nicholas Barth,

January 8, 2020 11:54 AM

The Call of Duty League recently announced that it would be switching to a tournament format for the 2020 season instead of the regular season format that was announced at first.

The Call of Duty League (CDL) will see 12 franchise teams represent various cities across the world in what will be a very different year for Call of Duty esports than fans have been used to over the years. At first, the Call of Duty League was planning on having each of the 12 team's host multiple events in their cities where a select number of the league's teams would compete in regular-season matches throughout the season leading up to playoffs where a champion would be crowned. 

However, the CDL received a great deal of criticism from the Call of Duty esports community, as many members were upset at the fact that there would no longer be tournaments that fans consider to be at the heart of the competitive scene for the legendary first-person shooter franchise. This criticism prompted the CDL to revamp its format to a tournament system where the 12 teams will instead host a total of 15 tournaments where individual champions for those events will be crowned.

The CDL has now expanded upon the currently know information for how the tournament format will operate with an announcement that took place on Wednesday, January 8th. 

(Source: Call of Duty League)
(Source: Call of Duty League)

According to the CDL announcement, "Beginning in London on February 8, Home Series Weekend events will feature eight teams competing in a tournament bracket. The eight teams competing will be separated into two groups of four (i.e., four teams in Group A and four teams in Group B). The first-round matchups for each group will be determined ahead of each event by the League Office. During the course of each Home Series Weekend, the four teams that have won two matches in their respective groups will advance to compete in a single-elimination bracket to determine the Home Series Weekend event winner. Teams will earn 10 CDL Points for each win. The overall Home Series Weekend event winner will also earn 10 bonus CDL Points."

The only home series weekend that will not follow this tournament format will be the league's opening weekend hosted by the Minnesota Rokkr, taking place between January 24th and January 26th. 

The CDL points for each home series weekend will then be spread out amongst teams in the following format:

  • 1st - 50
  • 2nd - 30
  • 3rd/4th - 20
  • 5th/6th - 10
  • 7th/8th - 0

These CDL points will be used to decide which eight teams make the playoffs at the end of the season, where the very first Call of Duty League champion will be decided. 

What are your thoughts on the tournament format that the Call of Duty League will be using for the 2020 season? Let us know in the comments below!


You need to be logged in to post a comment.

Join us