E3 2021 Round-up - The Beat Goes On

Jason Bennett,

June 29, 2021 7:50 PM

Ubisoft and Square Enix set up a year of music-based gaming with their forthcoming titles

E3 2021 is now one for the history books, with the Entertainment Software Association staging a free access virtual online-only from June 12 to 15. After last year's cancellation, E3 organizers were primed to showcase an incredible range of upcoming hardware and software products. For those that didn't have a chance to tune in, you can catch up with the E3 round-up!

Turn Up the Volume

Dance / music related software titles continued to make big news at the event. Below are some of the highlights from different developers.

Just Dance 2022

An assortment of dancers warm up for their gaming debut [Source: Ubisoft]

It's now been 12 years since Ubisoft released the first Just Dance in 2009 for the Nintendo Wii. Since that time, it's grown into one of the most recognizable titles in the music game space.

Just Dance 2022 will be available on Switch, Playstation, Xbox, and Stadia November 4th. For mobile users, you can play the game on any platform including iOS and Android using the Just Dance Controller App. Ubisoft hopes that different modes such as Sweat, Co-op, Quickplay and World Dance Floor will keep players dancing.

To keep things fresh, Ubisoft is offering Just Dance Unlimited - a subscription-based streaming service wtih a catalog of over 700 hit songs, with new songs to be added through the year. Just Dance 2022 comes with one month of free access to the subscription service.

Ubisoft also revealed 7 of the 40 new songs featured in the game at E3. Tracks will include:

  • “Believer” - Imagine Dragons
  • “Level Up” - Ciara
  • “Run the World (Girls)” - Beyonce
  • “China” - Anuel AA, Daddy Yankee, and Karol G Ft. Ozuna, J Balvin
  • “Last Friday Night (T.G.I.F.)” - Katy Perry
  • “Funk” - Megan Trainor


It's time to put away your button-covered Guitar Hero controller [Source: Ubisoft]

For those interested in channeling their inner musician, Ubisoft announced a new release of Rocksmith+ for Summer 2021 on Windows PC followed by Xbox and Playstation in Fall 2021, with a commitment to release the title on iOS and Android devices at a later date.

Originally released in 2011, the Rocksmith+ franchise continues to expand with new functionality for anyone wishing to learn guitar and bass while playing along to their favorite songs. Users can play an acoustic guitar or an electric instrument and amp using Rocksmith+ Connect mobile app, which offers phone-as-mic-techology.

To keep things interesting, Ubisoft will be partnering with Gibson, the world’s largest guitar distribution company, as well as Epiphone, Kramer, Ibanez, Ernie Ball, Marshall, Orange, and Mesa/Boogie.

With the title's release, Ubisoft will also be launching Rocksmith Discover, which is an interactive service that works imilar to Spotify recommendations, with the goal of connectings players with new and different songs that “makes you want to play”. Content will be posted to rocksmith.com that covers a variety of topics, from history and music appreciation to gear as well as theory and technique.

Rocksmith+ is based on a subscription-service model, and will be priced at $14.99 for a 1-month subscription, $39.99 for a 3-month subscription, and $99.99 for a 12-month subscription.

Guardians of the Galaxy

Every space battle needs a music soundtrack [Source: Square Enix]

Square Enix continued the music vibe by announcing the forthcoming release of Guardians of the Galaxy. Available for purchase on October 26, 2021, the Eidos-Montréal developed game will be released on Playstation, Xbox, and Nintendo Switch. Working mostly with an 80s set, the game will feature artists such as Pat Benatar, Wham!, Iron Maiden, Joan Jett, KISS, and Blondie.

Designed as a single-player, offline narrative-based adventure, the player will experience the game as Star-Lord, the only playable character. The player will be able to direct other characters though in attacking but without overt control of their movements. The game will also include different story-based dialogue depending on player decisions.

Music comes into play with the ability to choose from over 30 songs on the ship's jukebox. In addition, the player can also select lyrics from the track in order to perk up the team. Choosing the right lyrics gives the team a boost and choosing the wrong ones will only give the player character the perks. And with a nod to streamers, the game will feature a streamer mode that turns off licensed music in a bid to minimize DMCA claims on content.

What are your thoughts on these musical offerings? Let us know in the comments below!


You need to be logged in to post a comment.

Join us