TG Rules for Playstation 1?

1. TG Rules for Playstation 1?

12-06-2015, 02:26 PM
    Hello all,

I've had a look around and I see there are rules posted but I didn't quite get all my answers answered. Sorry if some of these questions are obvious to some of you but I'm new to TG and want to ensure any scores I submit are legit.

1, Are emulators allowed with Playstation 1 scores? I want to try and beat the Ridge Racer records on Twin Galaxies but I will need to buy an actual PlayStation if I can't use my Raspberry Pi 2 for emulation. They are mostly NTSC scores as well which is actually a faster version of the game and the reason I emulate it (I have JP, US & PAL legit copies of the game).

2, If I do need to use an actual console, Will a mod chipped console be legal for use with TG? As I would need to use a chipped console (region free) to play my NTSC/NTSC-J games as I'm from the UK.

3, Am I right in thinking that I would need to do a video of the game play for verification as I do have a screenshot of my best score in Ridge Racer on the medium track and its better than the current score but I'm 99% sure a screen shot isn't enough but here's an example:

http://s15.postimg.org/hqkbjshvv/bestmed.jpg

4, Does anyone have the guidelines for video submissions as I'd like to get up to scratch with what is needed to provide a legit submission. I have had a look around and saw that they need to be encoded in a certain codec which I've never heard of before so any information would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks in advance for any help guys!
  2. 12-06-2015, 02:38 PM
    Hi rotunda, welcome to Twin Galaxies.

OK some bad news wrapped in some quick synopsis: generally no emulators, no mods, consoles play their own regions (no chips to play NTSC imports on PAL) - if you get a PAL console, PAL games are a requirement / if you want to play NTSC you need an NTSC console. NTSC & PAL are tracked separately for most platforms.